2022 National Age Group squads announced


thedragflick.com/Credits : Hockey Wales

Dragflick Newsdesk : Hockey Wales National Age Group (NAG) squads for 2022 have been announced.

Split into U18 and U16 Boys, and U18 and U16 Girls, the NAG programme continues the development of these young players and gives them their first taste of playing international hockey for Wales.

The players have been selected based on their performance at Regional Performance Centres (RPCs) since October 2021.

Director of Performance at Hockey Wales Kevin Johnson said

“After a very encouraging year of activity in 2021 for the National Age Group programme, all players and staff have been working extremely hard at the start of this cycle to arrive at this point, so many thanks to all involved.

Whilst it is a time that can bring disappointment for those not selected to go forward in the process, our recent changes in the Pathway allow for those players to get straight to work on their development in the next couple of months at Regional Performance Centres under the supportive eye of the national coaches.

Congratulations to those who have been selected and thank you to all our players’ families, schools, and clubs for the incredible support they offer. I am looking forward to seeing how these programmes develop and continue the momentum gained from 2021 activity.”

A full list of all four squads with messages from the NAG head coaches are listed below.

NAG Girls Squads

“We’ve had a really good assessment period with some tough decisions to make with such a pool of talent on offer. Mark and I want to thank all players for their hard work and we are looking forward to continuing to push on with all of the girls both at RPC and NAGs level. Both U16 & U18 NAGs squads are packed with lots of exciting players, we can’t wait to get into some test matches and see the girls out representing Wales!” Elliot Foweraker, NAG Girls Head Coach

U18 Girls Squad

  • Amy (GK) H. – Cheltenham HC
  • Suzi (GK) H. – Northop Hall HC
  • Betsan T. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Elen N. – HC Knole Park
  • Seren C. – Northop Hall HC
  • Emily E. – Brooklands HC
  • Ava D. – Bowdon Hockey Club
  • Amelia L. – Stourport Hockey Club
  • Bella D. – Slough Hockey Club
  • Sophia S. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Connie D. – Gwent HC
  • Ellie M. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Eleanor T. – Bath Buccaneers
  • Stephanie S. – Guildford Hockey Club
  • Emily S. – Whitchurch HC
  • Jemima R. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Lucy H. – Whitchurch HC
  • Emily P. – Brooklands HC
  • Leni B. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Orla O. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Elizabeth M. – Eastbourne Hockey Club
  • Lena D. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Clare T. – Penarth Hockey Club

U16 Girls Squad

  • Grace D. – Whitchurch HC
  • Amy P. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Tili P. – Chester HC
  • Soffia E. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Caitlin L. – Stourport Hockey Club
  • Esme S. – Gwent HC
  • Mia H. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Olivia F. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Makenzy B. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Beatrice P. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Rosie J. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Eloise M. – Clifton Robinsons Hockey Club
  • Caitlin W. – Wooton Under-Edge Hockey Club
  • Rebecca B. – Bridgend Hockey Club
  • Charley R. – Gwent HC
  • Nansi R. – Eirias HC
  • Heledd Haf O. – Dysynni Hoci Club
  • Carys H. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Carys M. – Gwent HC
  • Freya D. – Deeside Hockey Club
  • Iona R. – Whitchurch HC
  • Ruby B. – Whitchurch HC
  • Jessica P. – Gwent HC

NAG Boys Squads

“Well done to all the athletes who have completed through the selection process. All have shown tenacity, skill, and a keenness to grow their game.” Mike Williamson, NAG Boys Head Coach

U18 Boys Squad

  • Ewan B. – Rossall School
  • Moritz B. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Lloyd B. – Chester HC
  • Henry C. – Park House School
  • Harvey D. – Gwent HC
  • Harry D. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Alastair D. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Sion G. – Chester HC
  • Callum H. – Stourport HC
  • Lewis I. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Tom I. – Canterbury HC
  • Edward J. – Gwent HC
  • Samuel M. – Chester HC
  • Cameron M. – Reading HC
  • William M. – Whitchurch HC
  • Keir P. – Whitchurch HC
  • Samuel R. – Repton
  • Alex S. – Erias Hockey Club
  • Morgan S. – Ashmoor HC
  • Jack S. – Whitchurch HC
  • Harvey S. – Team Bath Buccaneers
  • Owen S. – Isca HC
  • Tomos W. – Whitchurch HC
  • Matthew W. – Reading HC

U16 Boys Squad

  • Lucian B. – Erias Hockey Club
  • Joe C. – Penarth Hockey Club
  • Joshua C. – Erias Hockey Club
  • Rhys C. – Whitchurch HC
  • Patrick C. – Guildford HC (U16)/ Fleet Ewshot HC (men)
  • Euan D. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Dafydd E. – Clwb Hoci Dysynni
  • Will E. – Gwent HC
  • Alfie G. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Griff H. – Cardiff and Met Mens Hockey
  • Seth H. – Gwent HC
  • Lewis K. – Bridgend Hockey Club
  • Callum L. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Ben M. – Whitchurch HC
  • Wiliam M. – Lord Wandsworth College
  • Ruadhan O. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Alfie P. – Chester HC
  • Alexander P. – Pembrokeshire HC
  • Luke R. – Swansea Hockey Club
  • Morgan S. – Gwent HC
  • Morgan S. – Whitchurch HC
  • Adam T. – Erias Hockey Club
  • Elliot V. – Penarth Hockey Club

The new cycle also brings some changes to the NAGs coaching staff. Joining U18 Girls Head Coach Elliot Foweraker and Performance Development Coach Adam Broomfield, Lauren Burrell is welcomed as Assistant Coach.

After performing the role on an interim basis, Mark Ramage takes on the position of U16 Girls Head Coach, alongside newly appointed Rhys Gwilliam as Assistant Coach and Performance Development Coach Lianne Preston.

We also welcome Brett Madden as Performance Development Coach to the U18 Boys coaching team, who will be joining Mike Williamson as Head Coach and Luke Stone as Assistant Coach.

The U16s Boys squad will be coached by Lee Marshall as Head Coach, Mohammed Samak as Assistant Coach, and Jasminder Singh as Performance Developer Coach.

Both NAG Girls squads gain a new manager in Sharon Smith, and Shelley Robinson moves across to manage the NAG Boys.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.